On Film and Emotional Healing


notifications sound off

I used to keep a list of every single movie I have seen.

I started keeping track when I was sixteen. It was a very weird time in my life. I was in a magnet high school at a community college where my superiority complex veiling my crippling insecurities was being dashed to bits by my peers who were much cooler, more adventurous, and kinder than I was. And people liked them for that. Figuring out that no one likes the stuck up, pseudo-underground intellectual was a hard lesson to learn, and instead of accepting that and whatever these people brought to the table, I adamantly rejected it. I even rejected some of the things I actually liked. I read ThePerks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky that fall, but when a girl whom my ex was interested in quoted a popular line that was making the rounds…

View original post 1,055 more words

Leave a Reply

