Editors Choice: Most Anticipated 2015 Film


Screen Shot 2015-06-24 at 21.18.07 Editor-in-Chief
Star Wars: The Force Awakens (18 December 2015):

Star-Wars-The-Force-Awakens

I am definitely not the only one who has been waiting fifteen years for a a Star Wars movie we can really, genuinely look forward to, and we seem to have it in The Force Awakens. Part seven of the sci-fi saga is set thirty years after the events of the original trilogy, and based on the two trailers so far it looks AWESOME. J.J. Abrams takes over the reigns, and his love of the franchise has really shone through, taking things back to what they should be, and with Adam Driver in the evil Sith role he was born to play this is shaping up to be one of my favourite films of all time.

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 22.39.32 Jamie Goss, News & Feature Editor

James Bond: Spectre (26 October 2015):

bond24_spectre_onesheet_theatrical_imax_print_quad_by_danielcraig1-d8jljan

It’s been three years since the last James Bond film was release all the way back in 2012… This has been far too long in the making, but Spectre is without a doubt my most anticipated film of 2015!

Skyfall is my favourite film of all time! I’m hoping for it to be replaced by Spectre this Winter… It’s a tall order, but I’m sure Sam Mendes can deliver again! Come on, it’s James Bond… It’s going to be a blast!

1235469_10153168515030012_1484978812_n Jasmine Lakhani, Trailer and Review Editor

Black Mass (13 November 2015):

black-mass-featured

I love gangster movies and I love Johnny Depp so I can’t wait to watch Black Mass. Black Mass is based on the true story of the notorious Boston gangster James ‘Whitey’ Bulger, played by Johnny Depp. The film centers on Bulger and FBI agent John Connolly (Joel Edgerton) – “The unholy alliance between the FBI and Whitey Bulger, one of the most notorious gangsters in U.S. history.”

The cast also includes Dakota Johnson, Jesse Plemons, Juno Temple, Benedict Cumberbatch, Corey Stoll, Adam Scott, Sienna Miller and Kevin Bacon.

Before Public Enemies (2009) I couldn’t see Depp as a gangster but he lifted my doubts, which is why my hopes are high for Black Mass.

I am crossing my fingers for Black Mass to be 2015s new must watch mob movie.

Screen Shot 2015-05-21 at 22.38.32 Meaghan Spencer, Social Media Editor

Victor Frankenstein (27 November 2015):

Victor-Frankenstein-Daniel-Radcliffe-James-McAvoy1-e1429885357989

With its release date having been pushed back several times already, I’m crossing my fingers that Paul McGuigan’s Victor Frankenstein really will open in UK cinemas on the 27th November, later this year.

Having directed four episodes of the hit BBC remake Sherlock, it’s no surprise that McGuigan’s twist on the Mary Shelley classic features half of the same cast. From Mark Gatiss to Andrew Scott, you’ll recognise more than one face in the upcoming horror.

James McAvoy leads the way as Victor von Frankenstein himself whilst Daniel Radcliffe takes on the role of Igor, the doctor’s assistant. Both are brilliant in their own ways and I’m looking forward to seeing them side by side on the big screen, particularly Radcliffe as he tries to shake off his Hogwarts uniform even more.

Told from the perspective of Igor, I can’t wait to see how this film will come together and offer an alternative view to what has become a time-honoured tale. I’m a huge fan of the original novel and I’m pretty impressed with the chosen cast so I’m feeling optimistic for this one.

Leave a Reply

